CFP: TARK 2017

TARK 2017
16th Conference on Theoretical Aspects of Rationality and Knowledge

Dates: July 24-26, 2017
Venue: University of Liverpool, U.K..
Official site:

About the Conference

The mission of the TARK conferences is to bring together researchers from a wide variety of fields, including
– Artificial Intelligence, Knowledge Representation, Multi-Agent Systems
– Cognitive Science, Psychology
– Cryptography
– Distributed Computing
– Economics, Decision Theory, Game Theory, Social Choice
– Linguistics
– Philosophy
in order to further our understanding of interdisciplinary issues involving reasoning about rationality and knowledge.

TARK 2017 is the 16th conference of the TARK conference series. Previous conferences have been held bi-annually around the world. The most recent conference was held in 2015 at Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, USA, see

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, semantic models for knowledge, belief, awareness and uncertainty; bounded rationality and resource-bounded reasoning; commonsense epistemic reasoning; epistemic logic; epistemic game theory; knowledge and action; applications of reasoning about knowledge and other mental states; belief revision; computational social choice; algorithmic game theory; and foundations of multi-agent systems.


Submissions are now invited to TARK 2017. Extended Abstracts can be submitted here:

The deadline for submissions is April 3, 2017.

Strong preference will be given to papers whose topic is of interest to an interdisciplinary audience, and papers should be accessible to such an audience. Papers will be held to the usual high standards of research publications. In particular, they should:
1) contain enough information to enable the program committee to identify the main contribution of the work;
2) explain the significance of the work — its novelty and its practical or theoretical implications; and
3) include comparisons with and references to relevant literature.

Extended abstracts should be no longer than 5,000 words (around 6 pages, double-column style as indicated below). Optional technical details such as proofs may be included in an appendix. One author of each accepted paper will be expected to present the paper at the conference. To format your paper please use: LaTeX2e – Tighter Alternate style from

The 5000 word limit is to ensure that the reviewers can read and express an opinion on the submission within the short time, though the submission format compresses the paper considerably. Please ensure that the main text for the reviewers stays within this limit.

TARK reviewing is not double-blind, so author names can be included in the submission.

While economics papers follow the same submission guidelines for review purposes, they can specify that only a short abstract be included for the Proceedings (with a link to a full working paper available online). The proceedings of all previous TARK conferences can be accessed at The proceedings of TARK 2017 will also be open access and available online.

Important Dates

Submission of abstracts: April 3, 2017
Notification to authors: May 20, 2017
Camera Ready Copy of Accepted Papers due: June 10, 2017
Conference Dates: July 24 – 26, 2017


Conference Chair: Joe Halpern, Cornell University
Program Chair: Jérôme Lang, CNRS, Université Paris-Dauphine
Organizing chair: Wiebe van der Hoek, University of Liverpool

Program Committee

Christian Bach, University of Liverpool;
Adam Bjorndahl, Carnegie Mellon University;
Jan van Eijck, CWI;
Nina Gierasimczuk, Danish Technical University;
Andreas Herzig, CNRS;
Jeff Horty, University of Maryland;
Jérôme Lang (chair), CNRS, Université Paris-Dauphine;
Fenrong Liu, Tsinghua University, Beijing;
Michael Mandler, Royal Holloway College, University of London;
Larry Moss, Indiana University;
Pavel Naumov, Vassar College;
Rafael Pass, Cornell University;
Gabriella Pigozzi, Université Paris-Dauphine;
Ariel Procaccia, Carnegie Mellon University;
Burkhard Schipper, University of California Davis;
Sunil Simon, IIT Kanpur;
Rineke Verbrugge, University of Groningen.